Full list of state universities in Nigeria

List of state universities in Nigeria

A state university in Nigeria is a particular type of public university associated with or funded by the government state. Many of the country’s state universities, including the Universities of Education, Universities of Agriculture, and Universities of Technology, receive some of their funds from the state. However, most of them already have adequate income from fees and tuition, revenues from royalties, and donations from philanthropists or alumni. These tertiary institutions include:

  • Rivers State University of Science and Technology founded in 1979
  • Ambrose Alli University in Ekpoma founded in 1980
  • Abia State University in Uturu founded in 1981
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University I Ago Iwoye founded in 1982
  • Enugu State University of Science and Technology in Enugu founded in 1982
  • Ekiti State University founded in 1982
  • Lagos State University in Ojo founded in 1983
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology in Ogbomoso founded in 1990
  • Benue State University in Makurdi founded in 1992
  • Imo State University in Owerri founded in 1992
  • Delta State University in Abraka founded in 1992
  • Adekunle Ajasin University in Akungba founded in 1999
  • Kogi State University in Anyigba founded in 1999
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University in Uli founded in 2000
  • Niger Delta University in Yenagoa founded in 2000
  • Ebonyi State University in Abakaliki founded in 2000
  • Kano University of Science & Technology in Wudil founded in 2000
  • Adamawa State University in Mubi founded in 2002
  • Nasarawa State University in Keffi founded in 2002
  • Cross River State University of Science and Technology in Calabar founded in 2004
  • Gombe State University in Gombe founded in 2004
  • Kaduna State University in Kaduna founded in 2004
  • Tai Solarin University of Education in Ijebu Ode founded in 2005
  • Plateau State University in Bokkos founded in 2005
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University in Lapai founded in 2005
  • Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University in Katsina founded in 2006
  • Osun State University in Osogbo in 2006
  • Yobe State University in Damaturu founded in 2006
  • Kebbi State University in Kebbi founded in 2006
  • Ondo State University of Science and Technology in Okitipupa founded in 2008
  • Taraba State University in Jalingo founded in 2008
  • Kwara State University in Ilorin founded in 2009
  • Sokoto State University founded in 2009
  • Akwa Ibom State University of Technology in Uyo founded in 2010
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education in Rumuolumeni founded in 2010
  • Bauchi State University in Gadau founded in 2011
  • Oyo State Technical University in Ibadan founded in 2012
  • Northwest University in Kano founded in 2012
  • Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa in Jigawa founded in 2013
  • Ondo State University of Medical Sciences established in 2015
  • Bornu State University in Maiduguri founded in 2016
  • Eastern Palm University Ogboko in Imo State founded in 2016
  • Edo University in Iyamo founded in 2016
  • University of Africa Toru Orua in Bayelsa State founded in 2016
  • Gombe State University of Science and Technology established in 2017
  • Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology in Abeokuta founded in 2017
  • Zamfara State University founded in 2018
  • Bayelsa Medical University founded in 2019
  • Bamidele Olumilua University of Science and Technology in Ikere, Ekiti State, founded in 2020
  • Confluence University of Science and Technology in Osara founded in 2020
  • The University of Delta in Agbor founded in 2021
  • Dennis Osadebe University in Asaba founded in 2021
  • Delta University of Science and Technology in Ozoro founded in 2021
  • King David University of Medical Sciences in Uburu, Ebonyi State founded in 2021

John Paul

John Paul is a senior editor at HotNaija. twitter

Previous Post Next Post